4947 W. Florissant Ave., St. Louis, MO, 63115 / Cake artist: Lindsey Sciaroni

 

The only cemetery in St. Louis that had a cake is located in the northern part of the city. But it’s not just a cemetery. It was the premiere cemetery of St. Louis, and today it is considered one of its most famous landmarks. More than 50,000 people are buried here, and some of them have special markings, including mausoleums, statues and architectural gems. In fact, some parts of the cemetery are registered on the National Register of Historic Places in the US.

In the early 19th century, city cemeteries as well as large ones were very uncommon. At that time, the deceased were buried in church graveyards, on family plantations, or in unmarked places. Cities began to prosper, and St. Louis was one of them. In 1849, Bellefontaine Cemetery was founded on, at that time, farmland. It followed the rural model of city graveyards, by having it far away from the downtown part of the city. Bellefontaine was intended to be non-denominational, as opposed to most religious graveyards.

This is the final resting place of several historical and well-known figures in Missouri and St. Louis. Among them are Adolphus Busch (founder of Anheuser Busch), James Eads (Eads Bridge architect), William Clark (explorer), Susan Blow (the ‘mother of kindergarten’) and Irma Rombauer (known for her The Joy of Cooking book). Also, eleven Medal of Honor recepients are buried at Bellefontaine – more than any other cemetary!

Bellefontaine Cemetery sign
Bellefontaine Cemetery sign

DSC01860

Cake placement date: February 18(?)

Where is the cake now?: According to the PR director, the cake is sitting in storage.  (May 2017)

Bellefontaine Cemetery on Facebook / Official website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *