539 North Grand Blvd., St. Louis, MO, 63103 / Cake artist: Rick Monrolus

*National Register of Historic Places*


One of the most iconic theaters in St. Louis dates back to 1929, when it originally started as a movie theater. At the time of its finishing, it was the second-largest theater in the United States. The theater was named after William Fox, who was an original motion picture legend who showcased films from his company, Fox Film Corporation. It closed in 1978, but re-opened in 1982 after it was purchased by Fox Associates. Three decades after its re-opening, it continuously shows several concerts and Broadway shows/musicals. Music greats that have performed here include the White Stripes, Ringo Starr, Stevie Ray Vaughan and Paramore; and even Roger Waters has raved about the Fox in a Rolling Stone interview. It currently seats 4,192 people, not including private seating areas for clubs.

The Fox with the cake in front! (though its a bit dark)

Cake placement date: February 27

Where is the cake now?: The cake was removed in early 2015, and it is believed to be in storage.  (April 2017)

Notes: The cake highlights some of the productions that were featured at the Fox: Phantom of the Opera, Jersey Boys, Evita, The Lion King, Les Miserables, Mamma Mia! and many others.

Fabulous Fox Theatre on Facebook / Official website
Here is an episode of Living St. Louis focused on the Fox Theatre:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *